When nothing else matters

Wednesday morning at 3 a.m. I awoke to pain, which I thought was cramps.  After lying on the couch awake in worsening pain until 6:12 a.m., I woke Diane up.  Finally at 6:30 I headed for the closest hospital.  ER nurse extraordinaire Kevin Hill  hooked me up with an IV and some meds, and a CT scan revealed a kidney stone causing the pain.

I was supposed to officiate a funeral in our church at 11 a.m.  I was also the one who was supposed to put the turkeys in the oven about 6:30 a.m. for the dinner after the funeral.  In addition, I was to get the laptop ready for the singing and music during the funeral.  I felt bad that Diane had to put the turkeys on for me, that Rex Young got called a few hours before the funeral to officiate it, and that Ralph Ross and pianist Lynn Kitchen got called into duty.  (My point isn’t that it takes 4 people to replace me, LOL.)

But at 6:30 in the morning in that much pain, I was focused on making that pain go away.  Nothing else mattered.  It reminds me that there will come a day for all of us when nothing else matters.  We will leave schedules and unmet obligations behind.  We may or may not be able to make alternative plans.  We may see it coming or it may be sudden.  One day, each of us will stand before the One who made us and we will not be worried about the plans we had on earth.  The one thing that matters will be our relationship with Jesus.  In the meantime, we continue to go through this life often acting as if other things are so much more important than Him, when the truth is nothing else matters.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

