Since Jesus came into my heart

I’ve had a few high school and college classmates that have “friended” me on Facebook and are now my Facebook friends.  I’m sure some of them cannot believe I am a preacher.

You never would have known when I was with friends in the early 1980’s at WVU in Morgantown (who had a phone number so similar to Domino’s Pizza that people would call and we would “take their order” only to leave them wondering why their pizza was never delivered)… you never would have known then that one day I would be the pastor of a church delivering the Word of God.  You never would have known when I was caught drinking beer and streaking as a young teen, that one day I would be drinking grape juice that we call the blood of Christ, remembering the shed blood of Jesus and blessing it for others to drink.  You would never have known when my wife came to pay to bail me out of jail the morning after an embarrassing night at a concert, that one day I would be offering the Hope of Jesus Christ to bail people out of their death sentence required by their sin.

But a funny thing happened on my way to a meaningless life of orneriness and trouble.  Jesus came into my heart.   Now I lead a purposeful life of orneriness and trouble.

  1. What a wonderful change in my life has been wrought
    Since Jesus came into my heart;
    I have light in my soul for which long I have sought,
    Since Jesus came into my heart.
  2. I have ceased from my wand’ring and going astray,
    Since Jesus came into my heart;
    And my sins which were many are all washed away,
    Since Jesus came into my heart.
  3. I’m possessed of a hope that is steadfast and sure,
    Since Jesus came into my heart; And no dark clouds of doubt now my pathway obscure,
    Since Jesus came into my heart.
  4. There’s a light in the valley of death now for me,
    Since Jesus came into my heart;
    And the gates of the City beyond I can see,
    Since Jesus came into my heart.
  5. I shall go there to dwell in that City I know,
    Since Jesus came into my heart;
    And I’m happy, so happy as onward I go,
    Since Jesus came into my heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

