God isn’t finished with me yet.

I’ve often said, and have heard other Christians say, “God isn’t finished with me yet.”  What do we mean when we say this?  Do we ever say it as an excuse for bad behavior?  It can be another way to say, “Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven.”  Yes, I know I jumped in front of you at the Walmart express lane with 57 items, but God isn’t finished with me yet.  I know I posted some mean things on Facebook, but Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven.  I got mad about___________, but___________.

I had a revelation this morning reading Oswald Chambers when he was talking about “sanctification”, or becoming more like Jesus.  Chambers wrote:

Am I fully prepared to allow God to grip me by His power and do a work in me that is truly worthy of Himself?  Sanctification is not my idea of what I want God to do for me – sanctification is God’s idea of what He wants to do for me.

So many times we look at “being more like Jesus” as something we strive to do.  What we need to do is be willing to allow God to work in us to make us more like Jesus.  We must allow God to have His way with us.  Sometimes that may be painful or uncomfortable.  It almost always means giving up control.  God really isn’t finished with you or me yet, but it’s His job to decide how to finish us, not our job to tell Him how to finish us.   Our only job is to allow Him to work, and He will carry it on to completion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

