Never know who we touch

When we were in New Orleans last week we stopped at the home of a couple who live in the ninth ward where the water topped the levy and destroyed nearly everything in the area.  The couple lost their business and a rental property as it was completely washed away.  Their home was destroyed, but left standing.  They rebuilt their home.  I met them last year on our trip there with Ginghamsburg.  This year I called them and asked them if we could bring our group to hear their story.  I took our group so we could be touched by them.  But in our visit, Butch said he and his wife were always blessed when our work teams come to visit them.  We went so we could be blessed, not realizing our visit would be blessing them.

I told our mission team last week that we will change New Orleans only a little bit, but we will be changed a lot.  We hung some drywall, hung some concrete board, did some yardwork, mudded some drywall, sanded a lot of drywall mud, caulked some windows, and shoveled broken glass.  Those were all material things.  Our simple presence there did so much more.  It encouraged many people there.  Our presence touches them and blesses them when they realize 7 years after Katrina, people haven’t forgotten about them.  It also touches us and blesses us to hear them praising Jesus in spite of all they’ve been through.

I hope you’ll take a few minutes to experience a little of what we experienced at their home:

*

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never know who we touch

  1. Steve says:

    I just wanted to let you know how much your sermon, and the N.O.s team’s comments impacted me.
    I say this to my shame, and I fault none but self, but it’s been awhile since I’ve felt the presence of the Holy Spirit,( outside of confessing prayer), around and within me.
    When you spoke off remembering,” Who’s”, you are, nd

Leave a Reply

