Being doubly blessed

You’ve probably heard people say, “Blessed to be a blessing.”  I’ve heard it and I’ve said it.  In Genesis 12:2, God tells Abram he will be blessed.  It reads, “And I will make you a great nation, And I will bless you, And make your name great; And so you shall be a blessing…”

Barnes’ commentary on the Bible says this sentence has lower and higher blessings.  The lower blessing has 3 parts:

  1. Make you a great Nation
  2. Bless you
  3. Make your name great

I’m certain that, like me, you’d be all down with that.  Make a great nation out of me?  Yeah, baby.  Bless me?  Bring it.  Make my name great?  That’s what I’m talking about!  Yet Barnes calls these the lower blessings.  The higher blessing is, “And so you shall be a blessing.”  God is blessing Abram, but it’s not for Abram’s benefit.  God is blessing Abram so Abram can be a blessing to others.

Right now I’m thinking about Jesus saying, “Whatever you ask in My name, I will do it.”  Jesus, I want a new Harley Davidson motorcycle.  Jesus, I want… I want…  Why would Jesus bless us?  So we can be a blessing to others (and glorify Him).  And then we sometimes try to act like the selfish things we ask for is to bless others.  If you give me a Harley, I’ll pick up elderly women and take them to get groceries at Walmart.

We in our parish recently had a cotton candy machine given to us.  I know why God sent it to us.  You know, too.  Why?  We were blessed with it so we can bless others with is.  Will we ourselves be blessed by it?  Certainly.  But primarily, it’s so we can bless others.  We did that when we took it to the trailer park for the block party and we’re doing it today at the Mason Levy helping someone in the community raise money to adopt a second child, bringing that child into a loving Christian home.

When we bless others with what Jesus has blessed us with, we get the lower blessing AND the higher blessing: It’s being doubly blessed.

This entry was posted in Opportunity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

