Who’s the helper? The Holy Spirit

I didn’t have many mechanics, carpenters, or handymen to hang around with as I was growing up and I also didn’t go out of my way to find any.  As a consequence, I don’t have the skills that some others have.  I’m not totally incompetent (not totally).  But there have been times I have asked people to “help me” do something or fix something, and what ends up happening is that they do the work while I hand them wrenches and screwdrivers.

Something just struck me this morning as I was looking at some Scripture.  On several occasions Jesus spoke of sending us a Helper.  In John 16:7 Jesus says, “It is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away the Helper will not come to you.”  Can you see where I’m going?  Jesus said He was going to send us a Helper, which is the Spirit.

While the Holy Spirit is called our “Helper”, in reality I find myself watching in amazement as the Spirit works in and through my life.  I deserve no credit.  While I ask the Spirit to help, I understand that all I’m doing is handing the Spirit wrenches and screwdrivers.  Without the Holy Spirit, I am incompetent….totally.

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

