God owes us no explanation

In my reading from Oswald Chambers this morning he wrote, “God expects no complaining on our part and offers no explanation on His part.”  I don’t know if I agree with that sentence.  I do know I don’t like that sentence.  I like knowing why and I like to complain when things aren’t going as I want them to (or think they should).  This is Chambers’ closing to a devotion about being faithful to God in all circumstances.  It’s probably something I’ll use for our Blue Christmas worship on Friday when my sermon title is, “Rejoice?  Are you serious?”  Part of Chambers’ point is that we most often don’t/can’t see what God is trying to accomplish through the difficult times.  And even if we can see what God is trying to accomplish, we often think there should be a less painful path to God’s end goal.  Jesus, Himself wondered about another way to reconcile us to God when He prayed in the garden from Matthew 26:39:  “Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

The question we must ask ourselves is, “Do we believe God has our best interest at heart?”  I believe He does.  So when our hearts are heavy, when the burdens are unbearable, when difficulties seem defeating, we must remember that God loves us, has a plan for us, and wants us to remain faithful just as He is faithful.  Does God sometimes give us explanations?  I think so.  Can God take our complaining?  Of course.  But I see how it is a tremendous show of our faith if we can get to the point where we expect no explanations and we do no complaining — Only trusting Him to work through all situations to accomplish His perfect will.  I want that kind of faith, and while I see glimmers of it in myself, I don’t have it yet.

Romans 8:28 – And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

