I didn’t ask for enough, in Jesus’ Name…

pantry20127Our food pantry served about 200 families yesterday, providing each family with a turkey, bags of potatoes, bread, butter, and lots of the usual stuff.  It began at 9 a.m.  Before we started, we basically had worship for 25 minutes for the 30 or so servants who came to be the hands and feet of Jesus.

When we finished, Vicky (who with her husband Lew oversee the pantry) brought Fred in to the work area with the 30 or so of us.  Fred was there to pick up food.  Fred was to go to the hospital today to prep for open heart surgery.  So there, yesterday in the food pantry, we all laid hands on Fred and prayed – everyone prayed – all out loud, touching Fred or touching someone who was touching Fred.  I didn’t hear anyone else’s prayer because I was praying myself.  I prayed that Fred’s surgery would be a success and that God would be glorified through the surgery and recovery.

Somebody must have one-upped me and asked that Fred not need the surgery because Vicky just sent me a text saying that they ran tests today and decided that Fred didn’t require the surgery after all.  To God be the glory.

It made me wonder why I didn’t pray for that.  Maybe somebody did or maybe nobody did.  Maybe God just wanted to remind me that His Word is true.  Scripture is true.  Ephesians 3:20-21 says, “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory…”

C.S. Lewis puts it this way: “It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

I was satisfied to ask for a successful surgery, God decided to grant Fred more than that.  Do you need a miracle?  Ask it in Jesus’ Name and for His glory.  There are no guarantees, but it doesn’t hurt to ask.  And even if you have prayed for less, trust me, God may decide to grant you more.  God I pray you would work a miracle and be glorified by……

This entry was posted in Hard times, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I didn’t ask for enough, in Jesus’ Name…

  1. David Cartwright says:

    I love the C.S. Lewis quote (he’s always good). It seems like I remember Ravi Zacharias quoting that in his book Has Christianity Failed You? Or, maybe it was some place else…

Leave a Reply

