Follow Me – I will as long as…..

David Platt has a new book coming out with the title Follow Me.  I think he’s talking about Jesus’ call in Matthew 16:24, “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.”  Nobody wants to take up a cross anymore.  Platt said one reason he wrote the book was that ‘…we have taken the costly command of Christ to go, baptize, and teach all nations, and turned it into a comfortable call for Christians to come, be baptized, and sit in one location’.  I’m sure the book will be a radical call to BE a Christian, not just SAY you’re a Christian, just as his book Radical was.  (I can’t recommend Radical enough.)

Sometimes we act like this idea of saying we’re a follower of Jesus without looking like or really being a follower of Jesus is something new.  It’s not new.  In Acts chapter 5 Ananias and Sapphira called themselves followers of Jesus, yet they don’t act like it and pay the price with their lives.  People on the fringe became aware of the consequences and while they thought a lot of the Christians, they dared not join them (Acts 5:13).  People knew they had to be all in or not be in at all.  The people who just wanted the benefits without picking up the cross and following admired from a distance.  There was a perfect illustration from this on Facebook a few minutes ago about the 24-30 inches of snow coming to New England.  A person wrote, “I know I may be crazy but for some reason I wish I was up north getting snowed in with a blizzard. It would be awesome as long as the phones worked and electric.”  ‘As long as…’

I’ll follow as long as I don’t have to give up _________, as long as I don’t have to leave behind _________, as long as I don’t have to go _________, as long as I don’t have to give __________.   That’s not the way Jesus works.  He told them then and He tells you now, “…deny yourself, take up your cross, and follow Me.”

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

