Things aren’t always what they seem

I have a confession to make.  I did admit this in church one time and three to six others openly confessed it as well, so I’m not alone in this.  If you find today’s blog inappropriate, my apologies.  Here it goes.  When I go to the bathroom at the church I don’t turn the light on.  I use the light of my cell phone to find my way around (…ahem).  The church has a urinal so it’s not that big a deal.  It’s not like trying to hit a toilet bowl.  Yesterday a bunch of people were here for the Lenten Luncheon.  (Do you know where I’m going with this?)  Usually when there are a bunch of people in the church I do turn the light on.  Yesterday I didn’t.  The bathroom door was closed, the light was not on, and I was standing at the urinal when someone walked in and turned on the light.  I thought, “Great, I’m going to give someone a heart attack.”  Fortunately, when I spoke he didn’t keel over.  As I felt obliged to explain why I was standing in the men’s room in the dark, he had other things on his mind and shot for the toilet closing the door behind him.  I hurried out the door and as a gentleman would, I left the light on for him as I exited.

The man could not have expected someone to be in there when he opened the door and the bathroom was pitch black.  But things weren’t what they seemed.  Switching gears from the humorous to the serious, “Things aren’t always what they seem” could be a pretty lengthy sermon series.  When the disciples walked with and saw what happened to Jesus, things weren’t what they seemed.  It seemed like He was powerless to keep the soldiers from capturing Him.  It seemed like He was powerless to stop Pilate from sentencing Him.  It seemed like He was powerless to keep the soldiers from beating Him.  It seemed like He was powerless to keep the soldiers from crucifying Him.  It seemed like He was defeated.  But…..say it with me…… Things aren’t always what they seem.  Like a good book or movie, there was a twist.  Things were definitely not what they seemed.  The Author of the story of Salvation had a surprise.  Jesus wasn’t defeated on the cross.  Jesus was victorious on the cross.  And while Jesus was dead, He wasn’t dead forever.  Three days later He rose from the grave and was alive!  The enemy had taken the bait, done God’s will, and death had been defeated.

Today, we would do well to remember that.  Things still aren’t always what they seem.  Sometimes it seems like people who do wrong get rewarded.  Sometimes it seems like people who live for the Lord suffer.  Sometimes it seems like the world is right and the church is wrong.  Sometimes it seems like people (or maybe even you) are so lost they can never be saved.  Things aren’t always what they seem.

There’s a Scripture worth remembering.  It’s Proverbs 16:25 – ‘There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death.’  As Christians, it should be easy for us to remember that things aren’t always what they seem.

This entry was posted in Hard times, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things aren’t always what they seem

  1. You win the eco-friendly award for lent my friend!

Leave a Reply

