Things we don’t notice – I need to get back in church

I have been sick this week.  I’m starting to feel a little better, but I’m still not near 100%.  I know that because when I went upstairs in the church a few minutes ago, I took the steps like a normal person – one at a time.  I never go up the steps here one at a time.  I never thought about it until today.  As a matter of fact, I rarely come down them one at a time!  I guess I’ll know when I’m back to feeling better when I skip steps again.

Sometimes we allow ourselves to drift from God and we don’t notice.  We neglect prayer, Bible reading, or even going to church and we don’t really notice.  And the longer it goes, the less we notice.  Some people think it’s really weird when they miss church one Sunday, going so far as to say, “I’m going to have my days mixed up all week because I missed church.”  But miss a second week and a third and all of the sudden we get used to it and we no longer notice and it doesn’t even bother us.  I hear people say all the time, “I know I need to get back in church”.  It’s not really even getting back in church that’s the issue.  Most people who DO go to church would admit they don’t read the Bible and pray as they should.  I would argue that it’s much less likely that healthy people who don’t go to church are reading their Bibles and praying.  It’s not so much about getting back to church.  It’s about getting back into a right relationship with Jesus.  Church is just a part of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

