Remembering where we have been

It amazes me that we have bluebirds back for the 4th or 5th year in a row in a bird house in front of our house.  We also have lots of black capped chickadees back at our bird feeder in the back of our house.  What’s so amazing to me is not that they are here again, but realizing and remembering where that have been.  It’s inconceivable to me that these little birds fly south for the winter.  The fact that birds fly south for the winter is something I have known since I was a child, but I still find it quite unbelievable when I think about them actually doing it.  To think that a short month ago these bluebirds and chickadees where somewhere in the south amazes me.  It’s easy to forget that when they are dive-bombing me as you can watch in this 23 second video.

Just like taking the birds’ journeys for granted or not thinking about their journey at all, sometimes we take our own, or one another’s Christian journeys for granted or forget about them.  Some people I know amaze me when I think about where they have been, what they have been through, and where they are now.  What God has done in the lives of some people I know, and in my own life, is more amazing than the birds coming back to the same place after a thousand mile journey.

How blessed are we when we can look back and remember where we’ve been and give God the glory for getting us to where we are?  And if that isn’t you… perhaps if you are not in a good place now… rely on God, hang in there, and one day the tough times you are going through now will be a place you used to be.

This entry was posted in Hard times, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering where we have been

Leave a Reply

