I wish I could explain it to you

Last night we drove about 120 miles round trip to Johnson Memorial UMC in Huntington, WV.  They open their church up for a free dinner every Thursday evening for those living under the bridges, in shelters, and others.  Anywhere from 6-10 people from our church go every other month.  We provide the food and we assist in serving it.  We are already becoming known by the regulars there as “the church that brings the mashed potatoes”.  That’s a pretty awesome thing to be known for!  Last night we had corn/green beans, mashed potatoes, gravy, Salisbury steak, rolls, and desserts.  The truth is, we only had 75 Salisbury steak patties.  We also used about 70 large hamburger patties (which were larger than the steak patties).  Regardless, it was all meat in gravy.

feedinghuntingtonSome of our group fill the plates in the kitchen and others of our group pick up the plates filled with food and deliver them to the people waiting to eat.  Last night as we were passing out the food one guy said to Karista (a young lady from our church who is a freshman at Marshall) “can I trade for that other plate?”  It took a second to realize what he was asking.  Why did he want to trade plates?  They were all the same.  Then I realized why he asked.  When Karista gave him the plate he wanted it was one with a much larger piece of meat.  He said he had not had anything to eat all day (it was 6:30 in the evening) and he was hungry.  I believe he was telling us the truth.  Karista and I were both deeply touched, tears welling up in our eyes.  It was a moment I’m sure neither of us will ever forget.  And even as I share the story, with tears welling up again this morning, words seem to diminish that moment.

As I type this and my tears make the keyboard difficult to see, I wish I could explain to you how much I love serving Jesus.  It’s such a rewarding life.  I believe with all my being that He is real and He rewards me in so many ways.  He has proven Himself so many ways in my life.  Hebrews 11:6 puts it this way,

“And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”

And don’t think I’m doubting in saying this, but on the off chance that the atheists are right and I am wrong and when we die it’s all over and there’s nothing, I still wouldn’t want to live my life any other way than what I’m living it right now.

This entry was posted in Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

