I wish I could lose weight (quit smoking, etc)

Yesterday I was blessed to speak with some kids from a local Christian School who were on a retreat.  The theme for their day was “God’s plan for my future”.  What I told them was an epiphany for me.  I was talking with them about loving and serving others.  I shared stories about people I know cleaning trash from under bridges for people who live under them, driving an hour down the road to feed people who are without a home, and our responsibilities according to Jesus.

I was in the midst of the message I felt I was supposed to deliver to them,when God added to it as He often does.  He had me tell them that when it comes to God’s plan for you life, it’s not about you.  I told them that God has this way of turning things upside down.  Is it your life and does God have plans for it?  Sure.  Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  He certainly has plans for you.  But the irony of it is “God’s plan for your life is not about you.”  I told them if God gives them a great intellect and they don’t study in school, they are not so much short changing themselves, but are cheating God.  They might be interfering with His plan for them to bless others and bring glory to Him.  Maybe He gave one of them a mind to be a doctor, but because they didn’t apply themselves in school, they will now work in banking instead.  There’s nothing wrong with working in banking, but what blessings are they now missing (giving and receiving) because they didn’t study ‘back then’?  Maybe they were going to do medical mission work in Uganda!

The point being, if they aren’t willing to apply themselves, study, and do their best for their own benefit, they should do it for the glory of God.  Colossians 3:17 says, “And whatever you do… do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”  Whatever you do.  So if you need to lose weight and you can’t find the motivation or will, turn to Jesus.  Do it for Him.  If you want to quit smoking, know it will bring a smile to God’s face when you do, rely on Him, and He will give you the power.  He overcame death, He can overcome smoking.  And finally remember these two things.  1.) You can’t change the past, regret is worthless.  Start from where you are now.  (I blogged about that a while back.)  2.) It’s everything you do – big things and small.  Things that benefit others and things that benefit yourself.  Do everything for Him.

Steven Curtis Chapman has a great song and entertaining video about doing everything you do to the glory of the One who made you:

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

