Who are all these friends?

The other day I figured out who one of my Facebook friends was.  If you are on Facebook, you surely know what I’m talking about.  It’s not that I have that many friends on Facebook, but some are people who live in the community who I know one way or the other who have asked me to be their Facebook friend.  The problem is that sometimes I know faces, but not names.  When people have pictures of their dog as their profile picture, I don’t recognize their dog.  Still, as long as it’s not one of those friend requests that has the young woman in lingerie with a dozen male friends from all over the country (those guys need Jesus), I add those who have requested.  Some people have a thousand or more ‘Facebook friends’.  Some business people use it to make contacts, like a car salesman.  Sadly, some young people use Facebook to gauge their worth by the number of ‘likes’ their pictures get.  I’ve heard of employers using Facebook to check an individual’s page to see if they want to hire the person.

Today’s blog is just another reminder that we can apply Colossians 3:17 even to Facebook, “And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”  This is a good verse to memorize if you don’t know it.  If the Bible was being re-written for today’s generation, I think Colossians 3:17 would say,  “Whatever you do, say, tweet, or put on Facebook, do it in the Name of Jesus…”

This entry was posted in Opportunity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

