We have nothing valuable in our home

We’re leaving for vacation tomorrow.  Only our cat will be home.  I know you think it’s foolish to tell people we’ll be gone, but I’ll be blogging from and about Providence, Cape Cod, and Maine the next couple of weeks.  People will know.  So let me take this opportunity to tell you and everyone that it makes no sense to break into our home.  We have no prescription medications, I don’t own a gun, we have no money in the house, no old coins, no collectibles, no electronics, no flat screen televisions, no tools… nothing.

As a follower of Jesus, it’s a Biblical way to live.  Matthew 6:19-21 says,

“Don’t collect for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal.  But collect for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves don’t break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

But even when you think you are living modestly and doing right, you have to be careful.  For me a ‘martyr style’ pride creeps in.  I remember blogging about the pride I had in my old 1995 Ford Aspire.  We can purposely live a life of poverty and that old devil can convince us we should be proud of that!  I have to be careful about that.  Not that I’m living a life of poverty, but know this – there are no valuables in my house 😉

This entry was posted in Opportunity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

