Better is the day of death?

For 100 days or more I’ve seen a friend post on Facebook pretty routinely about how many days until Myrtle Beach.  That was last week for her and now it’s over.  One time I booked a cruise for Diane and I six months in advance.  For six months we looked forward to it.  Time goes fast and before you know it vacation is here and gone.

In Ecclesiastes, Solomon says the day of death is better than the day of birth.  I don’t think he’s saying the end is better than the beginning.  I’ve heard it explained that he said that on your day of death you can rest in a life well lived.  On a day of birth, it’s not known how the life will go.  I don’t know about that.  I sort of like unpredictability.  I like anticipation.  I like the hope of a future.

Today, I sit in a church on Long Island in New York ready to go to work rebuilding a home destroyed by Hurricane Sandy.  That’s about all I know.  I don’t know what we’ll be doing, where we’ll be going, or the people we will be working with.  But I know God is in this place and is with us.  And going into anything for the glory of God, and knowing He is with you makes the beginning not quite as scary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

