Spending a little time in the Word

If many of us were being honest, sometimes we just read the Bible to be able to say we read the Bible.  And other times we can read it to hear God speak to us.  There’s an obvious difference between quantity and quality.

I’m trying to get our church to learn Psalm 143:8 – ‘Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life.’  I’m trying to learn it, too.  I gave us all an assignment in church this past Sunday to write the first half of the Psalm, ‘Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you’ 100 times this week.  I don’t know how many will do it, but as I’m writing, I’m finding it more than memorizing Scripture.  I’m finding it a rewarding time of being in God’s word.  Instead of rushing through it, I’m focusing on a piece of it.  And it’s more than I imagined it would be.

I encourage you to try it yourself when you have a little time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

