Sorry, your assignment was bigger than it should have been

Last Sunday I gave the congregation and myself an assignment.  I mentioned it in a blog a few days ago.  It was to write the first part of Psalm 143:8 100 times.  As I was writing it this week, I realized I should have said write it 50 times.  Or 40 times.  I didn’t plan on giving them the assignment, it was a spur of the moment decision.  I think it was probably too much for them to handle.

But it’s a wonderful reminder that God does not make that same mistake.  When God gives us an assignment, He knows it’s not too much.  God has never had to apologize to anyone throughout the entire history of the world for giving them more than they can handle, bear, or do.  Perhaps the point of the ‘homework’ I gave the congregation was to remind us of that.  And one of the big differences is that I was not going to help anyone do their assignment.  God never leaves us alone to do or go through the things he permits us to go through.  The mountains are never too big and we are never alone.

“Yahweh my Lord is my strength;
He makes my feet like those of a deer
and enables me to walk on mountain heights!” ~ Habakkuk 3:19

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

