Nobody comes to faith by reason

I had the privilege of talking with a man today who is not a believer.  He was an extremely pleasant and enjoyable man who is also very educated.  He indicated that being so educated and scientific is part of the reason he is not a believer in any type of religion.  I shared that I also love science and believe there are logical explanations for just about everything.  He and I have that in common.  I told him that is why it is a miracle that I am a follower of Jesus.  It makes no sense and can’t be explained or proven.  But I told him that nobody comes to faith by reason.  Nobody comes to believe there is a God by logic. (And in case you’re wondering, I have read Lee Strobel’s book, The Case for Christ).

He did say, though, that he felt there is something external that has to give someone of faith their faith.  I agree.  So does Paul.  Paul says it is ‘by grace through faith’ that we are saved.  Even my faith is a gift from God and given to me by His grace.  I do not come to faith by reason or logic.  As a matter of fact, I would come close to saying that one has to overcome reason or logic in order to believe in God and Jesus.  And I don’t mean we must throw science out the window, but to allow that there are some things you simply can’t prove or explain.  There are many scientists that are followers of and believers in God and Jesus.

What I cannot conclude, however, is that God doesn’t offer everyone that grace of the possibility of faith.  I believe that God extends everyone some measure of grace to allow them to have the faith.  Sadly, it’s just that some need proof.  And faith and belief in Jesus cannot be proven.  And Jesus knew it would be difficult when He said, “Blessed are those who have not seen, yet believe.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

