It’s Game Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I went to the local high school football game last night.  I enjoy football.  Someone asked me if I liked college and professional football and I told them I did, but I wasn’t as avid a fan as I used to be.  I went to the 1988 Fiesta Bowl in Tempe, AZ when they played Notre Dame, the 93 Sugar Bowl in New Orleans when they played Florida, been to the Carquest Bowl in Miami.  It used to ruin my day when the Mountaineers lost a football game.  While I still cheer for the Mountaineers, their victory or defeat does not have the same importance it used to.  And I don’t mean to sound like I don’t care if they win, I do.  I want them to win.  I would still go to a game or maybe even a bowl game.  I still watch them on TV.  It’s just that the closer I become with Jesus, the more I understand that these games are entertainment.  They are not life and death.  They are for our amusement.  When we start to worship anything it’s a problem.

I heard Pastor Matt Chandler say one time that he could not allow himself to care about college and pro sports because he would care too much.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with most of the things in our society that are for our amusement or entertainment.  As a follower of Jesus, the problem is when I start to place too much importance on my entertainment that it becomes my idol.  I am looking forward to seeing the QB play in the WVU game today.  I’m happy it’s Game Day.

This entry was posted in Obstacles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

