What will the preacher say at your funeral?

Less than 10 days ago a guy sat in my office talking to me for about a half an hour.  I blogged about it here.  I mentioned in the blog what a great attitude he had.  When he told me where he lived I had no idea I would need to know that in less than 10 days.  His wife called me this morning and told me he died.  I was able to go right to their home thanks to his instructions.  He also helped me in the event that I speak at his funeral.

So what will the preacher say at your funeral?  He was a rabid Redskins fan.  She was in her glory when she was shopping.  He never missed an episode of Survivor – He saw every one.  She loved the beach.  None of these are bad things.

I want the preacher to say I was a rabid Jesus follower.  I want the preacher to say I lived my faith.  I want the preacher to say I was the hands and feet of Jesus the last half of my life.  If he or she throws in that I was a Mountaineer fan and I went to the 1988 Fiesta Bowl and the 1993 Sugar Bowl that’s OK, but that’s not the most important thing.  As a matter of fact, I hope that I am able to do so much in Jesus’ Name that being a Mountaineer fan is too far down on the list of things to mention.

It’s the old saying, “Live your life in such a way that the preacher won’t have to lie at your funeral.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What will the preacher say at your funeral?

  1. Eileen White says:

    I think you handled first service really good this morning, There were many people mourning in that service because we all love sweet gentle speaking Chuck. He was a really good man, who really loved his wife and family, and by the way Diane can take over anytime, she acted like she does this everyday. Thanks Diane.

Leave a Reply

