Do you like it here?

As you can imagine, there’s one question a new pastor hears over and over.  “What time is dinner on Wednesday?”  No, not really.  The question is, “Do you like it here?”  There’s hardly a day that goes by that I don’t have someone ask.  In the last few days I was having a lengthier conversation and someone asked if Diane and I liked it here.  I said, “We like it here, but I think we’d be happy anywhere.”  I know you could come up with a hypothetical circumstance and a place we would have to say we probably wouldn’t like.  But the bottom line in what I was saying is that I think we would like it anywhere God would have sent us.

In Philippians 4, The Message sums up Paul’s secret to being content this way:

Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.

It’s the One who makes me who I am – Jesus.  When you focus on Him, you take your eyes off of imperfections in other, you take your eyes off your problems, to take your eyes off of things Satan would have you focus on.  Instead, we look unto Jesus.  I haven’t completely gotten to the point Paul was yet.  I still like good days more than bad days, and I’m guessing you do, too.  But I’m working on being ‘content whatever my circumstance’.  I hope you are as well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

