Does the church miss you?

I loved playing baseball as a little kid.  I wanted to be a professional baseball player when I was a kid.  And I tell this story knowing we were all legends in our own minds when we were young athletes.  I remember when I was about 8 or 9 years old, no kidding, and many people thought I was the best player on the team – I played shortstop and I could hit.  And I remember being late this one time and when they see me getting out of my dad’s car, minutes before the game started, my team all started cheering.  Seriously, it was one kid yelling, “Scott’s here” and all the rest cheering and yelling, Yaaaaayyyyyyyyy!!!!

But as I got to be 13-14-15, I didn’t become a whole lot better.  As a matter of fact, it got to the point that it didn’t matter if I even showed up.  Not only were they no longer cheering if I showed up at the last minute, but nobody missed me if I missed a game.

Now what I don’t want you to hear is you are not necessary to the church.  Scripture tells us that we all have different gifts and each one who is a follower of Jesus, a believer, have the Holy Spirit in us and together we make up what the church is meant to be.  But we don’t all fully participate in and/or aren’t fully devoted to whatever our part is – some of us so much so that it wouldn’t make any difference if we came to church or were part of the church or not.  And it’s not about being out in front and being seen, either.  Some of the most important people in any church are the prayer warriors.  We all have a part and no church is not what it could be if everyone isn’t participating.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

