Do I believe Jesus is able to do this?

In Matthew chapter 9 Jesus brought a girl back to life and also healed a woman.  When he leaves, two blind men follow Him.  They cry out, “Son of David, have mercy on us!”  I should tell you in case you do not know that the title “Son of David” is reserved for the Christ – the long awaited Messiah.  And Jesus does not discount their pronouncement.  And when they called, ‘have mercy on us’, naturally they mean they want to regain their sight.

And as Jesus often did, He asked a question.  On this occasion He asked, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?”  On the surface, it seems like a strange question to ask two blind guys who are calling you the Christ and asking you to heal them.  But then I think about how often He asks me that same question.  He asked me that this morning:  “Do you believe that I am able to do this?”

Wesley Chapel is in a time of transition.  And transition or change is almost always difficult for some and enjoyable for others.  There are going to be growing pains.  And while I celebrate all this church has done for the glory of Jesus in the past, the future that God has planned for this church is brighter than anything this church or community has ever seen in the past.  Even though I know it’s why God sent me here, sometimes I can begin to wonder if I am up to the task.  But then He asks me, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?”  He never asks me, “Do you believe YOU are able to do this?”  If it’s God’s vision, the answer to ‘can I do it?’ is always no.  At least not without Him.  But the answer when Jesus asks, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” must always be a resounding yes.  And that is why we should not worry, even though we do.  It’s why we should not worry about health, money, transitions, or whatever it is that keeps us up at night.

Whatever it is that has you worried, whatever struggle you are going through, whatever temptation, whatever challenge, whatever…..   He’s asking you today, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?”  The blind men said, “Yes, Lord.”  What is your answer?  Mine is, “Yes, Lord. I believe you are able to do this.”

*

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

