After a little arguing with God about difficult times

This morning I read Habakkuk from the Old Testament.  It’s a back and forth conversation between a prophet (Habakkuk) and God.  And the prophet is flabbergasted that God was doing nothing about the wickedness and injustice that was rampant in and around God’s people.  He was even more perplexed when God told him He was going to use the despised (and even less righteous) Babylonians to dole out the punishment.

God was handling things in ways that Habakkuk did not agree with nor even understand.  But in spite of how things appeared, God told Habakkuk to remember who God was and is.   God blessed Habakkuk with the faith to believe that in spite of how things appeared, God was indeed at work.   God basically said to Habakkuk, “Trust me.  I got this.”

By the end of his recorded conversation with God, Habakkuk was able to relay this sentiment as paraphrased in The Message:

Though the cherry trees don’t blossom
and the strawberries don’t ripen,
Though the apples are worm-eaten
and the wheat fields stunted,
Though the sheep pens are sheepless
and the cattle barns empty,
I’m singing joyful praise to God.
I’m turning cartwheels of joy to my Savior God.
Counting on God’s Rule to prevail,
I take heart and gain strength.
I run like a deer.
I feel like I’m king of the mountain! ~ Habakkuk 3:17-19

It’s a blessing when God brings us to the point where our faith and joy in the Lord is not contingent upon our circumstances – when we can say, “In spite of it all, I love and trust you Jesus.”  And as Habakkuk found out, it takes trials to realize He’s blessed us with that kind of faith.

JJ Heller Puts it this way in her song – Sometimes I don’t know what you’re doing, but I know who You are:

*

*

*

 

 

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

