Reminded verses instructed

Last night I was able to attend the Frankfort High School band concert at the school.  The marching band played the music from the football season and the jazz band played some Christmas music.  While the marching band was playing, the young ladies who do the flags during the games were taking turns with the flags in front of the band because space was limited.  I was sitting where I could see the girls sitting along the side who were waiting for their turn with the flags.  One of the girls was taking her turn twirling a flag and looked at her friends sitting along the side.  A friend on the floor put her hand up to her own lips and made her own mouth smile and she whispered, ‘smile’ to her friend.  The girl with the flag smiled.  It made me smile.  The girl with the flag didn’t need instructed on how to smile while she was performing.  She just needed reminded.  And that reminds me of something.

CS Lewis wrote in Mere Christianity that God’s people need to be reminded more than they need to be instructed.  Lewis didn’t consider himself anything more than a Christian lay person (aka congregation member).  He said the real job of a pastor in leading himself and other Christians is to

“…keep on bringing us back, time after time, to the old simple principles which we are all so anxious not to see; like bringing a horse back and back to the fence it has refused to jump or bringing a child back and back to the bit in its lesson that it wants to shirk.”

That explains why preachers preach basically the same sermons over and over and people keep coming to hear the same sermons over and over.  Peter just preached Jesus and preached repentance over and over.  Paul told the Corinthians that all he did was preach about Jesus and Jesus crucified.  It’s why I love preaching the Gospel.  It’s why I write my blog.  Most of my blogs and my sermons are just reminders.  I hope you continue to read my blog and I hope you come to church (or go to the church of your choice) Sunday so you might receive some instruction, but more importantly, we all need to be reminded of some things.

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reminded verses instructed

  1. coachbarr says:

    Thanks for reminding me that it’s OK to remind people of the basics of our belief in my speaking.

    • I heard that Billy Graham preached a sermon early in his ministry and a friend told him he failed to mention the cross. Graham said for the rest of his ministry, he never failed to mention the cross in a sermon. Perhaps that’s why he had such an effective ministry?

      I miss hearing you speak.

Leave a Reply

