Why do we keep walking around with a rock in our shoe?

DSCN1086Today I moved my desk 4 inches.  For 4 1/2 months I’ve been backing the chair up and spinning to get out and smacking my knee on the desk half the time.  Today I pushed my desk away from the bookcase 4 inches and it seems like I have so much more room.  I suppose I’ll still hit my knee once in a while, but I know having more room will make it less likely that I hit it so much.  It reminds me of how we walk around with a little rock in our shoe.  We will shake our foot to move the little sucker so it is in a place that it doesn’t hurt so much.  Why we don’t just take a few seconds to take our shoe off and dump the rock out is a mystery.

It reminds me of something I read about a man who was chopping wood with a dull axe.  He knew his axe blade desperately needed sharpened.  Had he sharpened it, it would have made the work much easier and he would have finished the job in half the time.  But he kept whacking away with the dull blade working himself to death.

Sometimes we know what we should do and why we don’t do it is beyond explanation.  Why do we walk around with a pebble in our shoe?  Why did I not move the desk earlier to save my left knee?  Paul said in Romans 7 that he knew what he should do, but often didn’t do it.  He said that instead he did what he didn’t want to do.

Most of the people who read my blog go to church somewhere.  And I appreciate your encouragement and how God uses my effort to encourage you.  And I hope you got what you were supposed to get from today’s blog, but the rest of this is geared toward those who don’t attend worship at any church.

I’ve had some of you tell me that you don’t go to church, but you read my blog.  I’m thrilled you read my blog, but that’s not enough.  I think you probably know you need to get into or back into a church.  I don’t know why you don’t attend.   Perhaps you’ve had a bad experience in a church.  If so, welcome to the club.  We’ve all had bad experiences in church.  But Jesus established the church and He wants all of His people to be a part of it.  He wants you to be a part of it.  It is my prayer that you will connect with a body of believers who can help you on your walk with Jesus.  If you live close, give Wesley Chapel a chance.  If you live somewhere else, just go church (s)hopping until you find a fit.  That’s what I did in the beginning and that’s why I am United Methodist.  You know what you should do.  Don’t put it off any longer.

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Opportunity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

