Now that I have a chance to look back

The other day I read a dozen or so things that you will regret when you get old.  One of them was not working to be in better shape when you were younger.  This isn’t your first motivation for the New Year.  It may be the first thing you’ve read about reflecting on the year that’s just passed.

I’m looking back on my first Christmas Eve at Wesley Chapel and evaluating.  We had our first ‘multiple service’ Christmas Eve.  Overall it went well.  Were there things I would have done differently?  Yes.  Can I change things now?  No.  Can I plan differently next year?  Yes.  As a matter of fact I’ve already went into my electronic calendar and made notes to remind myself in mid November 2014 of some things to get to work on a month in advance.

I have seen on Facebook that some of my friends are also reflecting on Christmas.  One person said they were now awaiting their upset stomach from eating so many (too many?) sweets.  Another said they had a great Christmas even though they had stressed about it way too much.

No matter what your Christmas Eve was like, what Christmas brought, or what 2014 was like, the wonderful thing for all of us is that nothing is wasted in the Kingdom of God.  Romans 8:28 tells us, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  This surely means all things.  So if you love God and are His through Jesus, know this:  If this past year wasn’t one you would have chosen, or if you would have made different choices, you can rejoice that it is behind you and God has been at work through it all for your good.  And He has plans to give you a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11).  And you can rejoice in that.

And if it was a pretty good Christmas and/or a pretty good year all in all, you can rejoice in that and give thanks to God for what He has done.

I pray for you (and me) that whatever 2014 brings, we will believe and know that God is at work in every second of every day of it for our good and for His glory.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

