You never know if you don’t ask

This morning I read over the Scripture I’m preaching about next Sunday.  It’s Jesus changing water into wine from John chapter 2.  In telling Jesus that they were out of wine at the wedding, His mother Mary was asking Him to help out with the problem.

I’m not sure what points God will have me draw from the Scripture for the sermon, but the first thing that comes to mind is that sometimes we don’t have because we don’t ask.  I remember one time reading that the main reason people don’t get a raise at work is because they don’t ask.  I remember hearing Pastor Adam Hamilton tell about his wife getting her hair cut and getting upset when he got home and didn’t notice.  He said to her, “Help me out, honey.  In the future when you’ve done something you want me to notice, like getting your hair done, tell me what you’ve done and ask me if I like it and I’ll tell you it’s beautiful and that I love it.”  Now you may think she shouldn’t have to ask, but if she doesn’t ask then she’s probably just going to get upset again in the future.

Sometimes you never know what’s going to happen if you ask, but you can be pretty sure what’s going to happen if you don’t – nothing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

