It happens along the way

Last week our church finance committee unanimously voted to put an additional $2,000 in the church budget.  It’s $2,000 that I can use to take middle school, high school, and college students to McDonald’s.  It’s money for me to take them bowling.  It’s money to take them to Washington DC, Hershey Park, or a Hagarstown Suns baseball game.  If I need more money down the road, the committee told me to come back and ask.

What the finance committee understands is that teaching happens along the way.  And as I’m bowling with them, as we’re riding bikes on the streets of our nation’s capitol, as we’re swimming in a water hole at Swallow Falls, we will be building relationships with each other.  They will be feel comfortable talking with me.  They will listen to what I have to say.  And they will want to come.

I can have a youth Bible Study in the youth room every week and there may be 2 or 3 kids that would show up.  It goes back to a sermon I preached a few weeks ago about Jesus changing water into wine.  Following Jesus does not have to be boring.  Sitting in a church basement talking about Jesus isn’t where it’s at.  Experiencing the world He made and teaching the young people about Him along the way is exciting.  Rodney, one of the committee members, said to me after the meeting something like this, “You’re going to have a lot of fun with the young people.”  He is right.  I’m excited.

It’s going to be one of the best things our church could do for the teens and young adults.  And it’s going to be one of the best ways I could spend my time.  And as Jesus forms them into His disciples, I’ll be reminded that disciples are made along the way as we go through life together.

 

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

