Miracles won’t sustain you

Here I am, smack dab in the middle of preaching a sermon series entitled “I Need a Miracle” when God gives me a revelation.  You might say, a miracle.  He reminds me who He is and who I am.  He is the Creator and I am the created.  He is the Giver and I am the receiver.  His ways are higher than my ways.  And today He has made known to me the reason He didn’t want me preaching the “Feeding of the 5,000” last week as I thought I was supposed to.  It’s because I’m supposed to preach it differently than I would have last week.  While I was prepared to preach it, He wasn’t ready for me to preach it because He needed me to tell the people something other than what I had prepared.  And here’s a sneak peek of some of Sunday’s message:  Miracles won’t sustain you.

Even if there was a miracle in your life day after day – (and I could argue that each day is a miracle, but for the sake of this post, we’re talking about miracles like water to wine, miraculous healings like a man lame for 38 years finally walking – those type of non-everyday miracles).  Even if you experienced a miracle every day and those type of unusual miracles became common, they would not sustain you. You would get used to it. You would come to expect it. If you knew there was going to be an extraordinary miracle today, you would have wakened up early in the morning waiting to see what that miracle was going to be today. You wouldn’t have needed an alarm this morning, you wouldn’t have needed someone to drag your sleepy self out of bed, you would have been up – waiting and watching.  What’s Jesus going to do today?  What’s the miracle going to be today?

Then after a couple of months, you’d start to sleep a little later. You’d know the miracle will be there when you get up – what’s the rush?  And while we might not admit it, the truth is if there were an amazing miracle every day of our lives, we’d quit paying attention.   One day we’d say, “Well that was not nearly as impressive as yesterday’s miracle.”  The miracles won’t sustain you.  It’s because it’s not really the miracle itself that your soul longs for.  Our souls longs for our Creator.  What you need is the One who is responsible for the miracle.  And there’s only One responsible for the miracle. It’s Jesus.  Jesus will sustain you.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Obstacles, Opportunity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miracles won’t sustain you

  1. Eileen White says:

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

