Just start where you are

Diane likes to tell people who ask her about running, “Just start walking until you can run a little bit”.  Nobody goes from the proverbial couch to a half marathon overnight.  You have to begin where you are in the shape you’re in right now and take baby steps, so to speak.

That’s what I did when it comes to reading.  At 40 years old in 2002, I could honestly say the last book I read in its entirety was Close Encounters of the Third Kind in the mid to late 1970′s.  I just didn’t read books.  I would read the newspaper or Sports Illustrated, but no books.  Then I went back to college in 2004.  I took an adolescent literature class.  We had to read adolescent books.  I read Maniac Magee, Lois Lowry’s The Giver, and others.  They were books meant for 12 year olds.  I probably read them at the speed of a 12 year old.  I moved on to Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea.

I had to start somewhere.  Now I read all the time.  I’m past the adolescent books, but I’m thankful for them.  They were my first steps that eventually led me to Mere Christianity by CS Lewis and The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  I still find it hard to read with the television on.  I need to read in quiet.

Our spiritual lives with God always require a first step.  Moses is best known for leading the Israelites out of Egypt, but he first had to step toward the burning bush.  Peter took the famous step out of the boat, but he first had to step away from his nets.  Most of you have taken the first step in your walk with Christ.  Some of you have been walking with Him quite a while.  Others of you maybe haven’t.  If you haven’t, I urge you to take that first step.  Then don’t quit stepping.

If you have taken the first step, why would you ever quit stepping?  Claim God’s promise to Joshua from Joshua 1:3 – Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given you, as I said to Moses.  Just keep stepping.

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

