God knows you and loves you

We all have a tendency to seek approval.  And with today’s technology, we view acceptance or rejection based on ‘re-tweets’ and ‘likes’.  I’m not immune.  I click on the statistics to see how many people look at my blog and listen to my sermons.  I don’t know why.  I guess I’d hate to think I spend up to an hour in the morning on some of my blogs getting them ‘just right’ if nobody was reading them.  But that’s just an excuse.  I want to be liked.  Nearly all of us want to be liked.  And the truth is if we constantly do things to be difficult, if we’re hard to get along with, and if we just use others, we will not be liked and our witness will be harmed.  But we also mustn’t just say things and do things just to be liked and to win the approval of other people.

In his book The Knowledge of the Holy, A.W. Tozer reminds us that God accepts us and all of our baggage just as we are.  Odds are that He won’t leave you that way.  He will accept you as you are, forgive you for what you’ve done, and then begin to change you to make you more like Jesus.  We call the change Sanctification.  But know that the change is a work of God, not you and not me.  We just go with it as He works on us.  Until then, remember that God knows all about you and loves you anyhow, no matter what others think.  Don’t let a lack of likes lull you in to thinking you’re not loved.  You are loved.  Here’s the Tozer quote:

20140409-075030.jpg

This entry was posted in Hard times, Opportunity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

