Surprise me

Have you ever heard someone say, “Surprise me”?  I remember a time or two in days gone by when someone would walk up to the window of the ice cream shop and tell me they wanted a milkshake.  I naturally asked what flavor (we had 60 or so counting all the candies).  And they would say, “Surprise me”.  I doubt that I ever made them vanilla or chocolate.  Looking back, that would have probably been the biggest surprise I could have sprung on them.  With 60 flavors and expecting something exotic or fruity like Orange-Pineapple-Coconut and to get a spoonful of vanilla… Wow – I never expected that!

Easter Sunday is four days away and pastors, secretaries, administrative assistants, bands, singers, actors, and technology geeks are getting ready for Easter worship.  They’re doing bulletins, getting the computers ready to project the videos and songs, practicing their lines, hitting their notes, and practicing their sermons.

Here at Wesley Chapel we have a community sunrise worship at 6:30, breakfast at 7:30, and then our church has three Easter morning worships: 8:30, 9:30, and 11:00.  I know it’s critical for our 9:30 worship to be out of here by 10:30 to free up parking for the people coming for 11:00 worship.

Sometimes I wonder if everything gets so scheduled and planned out that God cannot surprise us.  What if God is going to send His Spirit to move in such a way that the 9:30 worship lasts three hours?  Would we ever allow that to happen?  Would we be willing to just tell the people coming at 11:00 to join us in the community room, that we’ve been worshipping for an hour and a half and the end is nowhere in sight?  We would never do that.  And some of the 11:00 people would have a cow.

Are we ever willing to say to God, “Surprise us!”  And I’m not just talking about Easter morning.  Are you willing to say, “Surprise me”?  If you are, God may just surprise you.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

