A $30,000 car and a $25 offering

Sunday at 9:30 church we spent a good deal of time discussing Francis Chan’s sermon Lukewarm and Loving It.  You can watch it here.  One person said what they heard in the sermon was that you could only get to heaven if you sold everything and gave it to the poor.  A couple of others who heard the sermon said they didn’t get that from it.  They heard Chan say that you mustn’t make money and possessions your idols, seeing them as more important than Jesus.

I said I believe the Bible teaches that what is required depends on the individual.  Jesus did tell the rich young ruler to sell everything he owned and give it to the poor and then to come follow Him.  Jesus knew that He couldn’t compete with the rich young rulers possessions for the rich young rulers affection.  Some people can have possessions and even wealth and still love Jesus more than their things.  Zacchaeus was able to hold on to some of his possessions because he didn’t value them more than Jesus.  And let me be clear, Jesus doesn’t need your money.  He desires your affection.  And Satan will use money (and credit cards… ouch!) to divert our affection from Jesus to our possessions.

I said if there are people driving to church in a Cadillac and putting $25 in the offering plate, that may be a sign that they love their possessions more than Jesus.  And Chan’s sermon said that it is so hard for them to get to heaven.  They would be better off selling everything they have and giving it away.  And don’t get mad at Francis or mad at me.  (As a matter of fact, if I preached this and someone got upset – that’s a pretty sure sign!)  We’re just telling you what Jesus said:

“I’ll say it again–it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the Kingdom of God!” ~ Matthew 19:24

*

*

*

 

This entry was posted in Obstacles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A $30,000 car and a $25 offering

  1. So when we tithe – do we have to tithe the whole 10% to the one church or can we spread it around, not to just churches, but to other groups such as the Union Rescue Mission, Salvation Army, or other non-profit groups, like animal shelters; or do we have to take that amount out of our “spending” money? Just curious since I did have a pastor tell me this. And then, can our time be worth any tithe? Just asking these, because I know I am not the only one wondering this! Let’s be honest a minute – what about the church requesting money for a missionary trip to Haiti and helping those people, and in the next breath ask for money for an air conditioner for the church – after saying how hot it is in Haiti and working. So we count our blessings. But do we give the whole tithe to the church or can we spread it around? I don’t know what the correct answer is.

    • I think I know what I’m going to preach about Sunday.

      • Also, how do I say this? There are a set few in the “church” who decide how the peoples’ money is spent – for that air conditioner, something they want but don’t truly need… Just because one gives to a church, is it indeed going to do Gods’ work? I’ll see you Sunday God willing!

  2. Eileen Whtie says:

    I might be wrong but I tithe some on Sunday morning, I never ask for gas money for all the running we do for the food pantry, I consider that a tithe, I think anytime you are doing the Lord’s work and it involves your money, weather it is a donation for a mission trip, a helping hand to someone in need, or food donations to the food pantry etc, is a tithe. I could be wrong, but that is the way I think.

  3. I think I know what I’m going to preach about Sunday.

Leave a Reply

