Ice Bucket Challenge Mulligan – Pray for ALS

I know a blog post was controversial or might not be taken well when my wife doesn’t click “like” on Facebook.  She didn’t click like yesterday.  As a matter of fact, with nearly 150 people reading it, very few clicked like.  I’m OK with that.  I don’t write to win a popularity contest.  But sometimes I wish I had written something else, something differently, or something more.  Sometimes I keep going, even when I should just quit digging.  With that being said, I want to expound on yesterday’s blog.

I have some dear friends who are waist deep in working and raising money to reduce the number of abortions that occur in the United States.   They would like you to take one of their baby bottles and fill it with change.  Some of you are really into the humane society.  Some of your are all about ‘fair trade’.  One young friend is really into women’s/girls self perception of their own bodies.  I have a friend called to minister to the homeless.  Others have a heart to support efforts to free those in the sex slave industry.  There was a short time when I put a red X on my hand to raise awareness about that.  I blogged about some of my cool friends and you can read it by clicking here.  I love Ronald McDonald Houses, Samaritan’s Purse, Compassion International, cancer research, World Vision, and Nothing But Nets, among lots of others.  I support ALS research.  I mean who wouldn’t want to see a cure for it?  I saw a couple of ads on TV yesterday asking people to donate to Alzheimer’s research.  That’s another good one.

None of us can do everything, but all of us can do something.  And we can all pray.  Why not make a list like I did today and spend a few minutes praying for them.  And thank God for those who feel called to lend their support to each one.

*

*

*

 

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

