Lukewarm Fans

I saw some pictures on Facebook last week making fun of WVU because Marshall was ranked in the top 25 football poll and WVU was not.  This week WVU is ranked ahead of Marshall in one poll, but I won’t gloat because with games remaining at OK State, at Texas, against #11 Kansas State, and #10 TCU, odds are we will lose another game and drop back out.

I have tried to become a less rabid Mountaineer fan over the last few years.  I confess it still bothers me more than I would care to admit when Mountaineer haters post things.  I still watch every game and was jumping off the couch when we stopped #4 Baylor late in the game sealing the Mountaineer win.  I went to a couple of basketball games last year.  I’m still a big fan, but I sometimes worry about caring too much.  Pastor Matt Chandler said one time,

The same goes for following sports. It’s not wrong, but if I start watching sports, I begin to care too much. I get stupid. If 19-year-old boys are ruining your day because of what they do with a ball, that’s a problem. These things rob my affections for Christ. I want to fill my life with things that stir my affections for him.

He’s talking about being consumed by sports.  Some people are.  I don’t want to be.  Matt Chandler has made the decision not to follow sports (and he played college football) because he can’t be a “lukewarm fan”.

I think I can still be a fan, being careful not to care more about the Mountaineers than I do the homeless or the lost.  When my teams lose, it no longer ruins my day.  If that makes me a lukewarm fan, I’m OK with that.  I just don’t want to be lukewarm about Jesus.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Obstacles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

