making fun of grammar

Sometimes it’s fun to read the comments at the bottom of articles.  This morning I read an article about someone writing a new book claiming Jesus was married and had kids.  The people who wrote it are the same ones who wrote another book about 10 years ago that was completely debunked by religious and non-religious people.  And of course, everyone’s weighing in with their comments at the bottom of the article.

I assume you’re not that much different than me – you often read the comments at the bottom, right?  I know I do.  I read comments a couple of days ago from someone who was really bashing Frankfort football and how they shouldn’t have beaten Robert C Byrd and Keyser high schools this year.  How the refs cheated, blah, blah.  I’m not saying the person was from Keyser, but was obviously someone who really hated Frankfort.  Don’t get lost here.  I’m talking about people making comments on the internet.

There’s always someone who makes fun of people’s grammar.  I admit that sometimes bad grammar can discredit an argument.  But there have been times when I have seen bad grammar and it turns out that the comments are from someone in another country who speak another language and they are doing their best to communicate in English.  They certainly type in English and get their point across much better than I could if I were typing a comment in their language.

Usually when someone is making fun of someone’s grammar, it’s all they’ve got.  They can’t argue the point, so they start picking on the person.  The ‘smart people’ often look at Christians as less educated.  I think it’s true that the more educated people are, the less likely they are to believe in a Creator.  And that’s sad.  But the Bible tells us that will be the case, “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”  “God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise…”

If your grammar’s not all that – Don’t let anyone make you feel inferior.  What matters is the heart.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

