Happy Thanksgiving: Lord, Thank you for what you’re going to do tomorrow

On Tuesday, my wife Diane, our older son Adam, and I worked at the Operation Christmas Child Distribution Center in Baltimore.  We piggy-backed that trip with picking our younger son Matt up at the airport in Baltimore on Wednesday.  He was flying in from college in Providence RI for Thanksgiving.  So we stayed in Baltimore Tuesday night.

We ate dinner Tuesday at a BBQ place that Adam saw on the TV show Diners, Drive-Ins, & Dives.  As I said grace, I thanked God for what He had done on that day (getting us safely to Baltimore, allowing us to work for Samaritan’s Purse at the shoebox center, etc) and for the food.  I also prayed something unusual.  I remember praying as well, “Thank you for what you’re going to do tomorrow”.

I didn’t know what He was going to do tomorrow, but I knew He was going to do something.  What I hoped He would do was get Matt and his plane safely to Baltimore and then get us safely home.  There were no guarantees with the weather forecast of 8-20 inches of show in the mountains between Baltimore and Short Gap.  Matt’s plane was delayed for an hour or so, but other than that it was pretty uneventful.  Last night at just after 6 p.m. we got home.

I don’t know why I said those words on Tuesday.  As I said them, I wondered what what going to happen the next day.  But I knew that whatever happened, God was going to do something.  He always does.  It’s not always what I want, but I’m reminded that He does not serve me, I serve Him.  In this case, He did give me what I wanted.  And the key to a Christian’s life is to thank Him for whatever He does.  Sometimes that’s difficult as we’re going through things.

So as you thank Him today on Thanksgiving as you remember your many blessings, try something different.  Try thanking Him for what He is going to do tomorrow.  Think of this when you are unsure about the future.  When you are worried about what tomorrow holds, thank Him for what He is going to do tomorrow.  He is going to do something.  He never does nothing.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles, Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

