When life goes on for everyone but you

adamhaiti

Adam attracted crowds of children in Haiti.

Five years ago today an earthquake rocked Haiti.  The best guess is that it killed somewhere between 160,000 and 200,000 people.    Top it off with an untrustworthy government and police force who steal the funds and supplies sent in to help, and it took people who were in an already poor and difficult situation and made it nearly impossible.  The earthquake was an the world stage for a couple of months and is now never thought of.  The world has moved on.

When I was in Key West I met someone from Long Island, NY.  I told them that Diane and I had been to Long Island with Samaritan’s Purse 3 times in the last 18 months working on homes damaged/destroyed by Hurricane Sandy.  Their response was, “They’re still there?”  I told them that Samaritan’s Purse is still working on Long Island.  Samaritan’s Purse is still is Haiti.  They are still in the Philippines.  They are there on behalf of Jesus.

We all have trials and traumatic experiences in our lives.  And people are usually supportive and compassionate for a little while, but then life goes on for them.  And we all understand it.  We’re the same when things happen to others.  We do what we can at the time and life goes on for us.  I think about that when I go visit someone in the hospital and then go to Martin’s to pick up groceries for a Wednesday dinner.  They’re still laying in the hospital and my life goes on as usual.

But there is One who never forgets us in our trial.  There is One who never leaves us and never forsakes us.  There is One who will carry us when we think we can’t go on.  His Name is Jesus and He is God.  I am thankful for my friends whom He has called to serve the people of Haiti.  I am thankful for my friends with Samaritan’s Purse that He has called to serve in the United States and around the world.  And I am thankful for you who I call friends who serve Him wherever you are in the midst of your own difficulties.  Lean on Him.  And know that when life is going on for everyone but you, Jesus is there for you – always.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Hard times, Obstacles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

