Martin Luther King Day & Proof of God

I remember writing a 10 page paper in seminary a few years ago about proving the existence of God.  In the end, I came to the conclusion that I can’t do it by my words, by my education, or by my preaching.  I cannot say anything today to convince you and that is not my job.  If I could prove it, then there would be no place for faith.

We often talk about the “burden of proof”.  I ask myself what would happen if I quit trying to prove it.  What if I just lived it the best I can, knowing that God does not need my defense?  God has been around long enough and Christianity has survived all this time without my efforts to prove God.  I’m certain that Christianity will be fine after I’ve gone.  I have come to the conclusion that God has called me to be a disciple.  God has called me to be faithful.  God has called me to love my wife like Christ loves the church, love my neighbor as I love myself, and to love God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength.  I will do none of these perfectly, but on occasion, when God grants me the grace, I just may unintentionally prove that God does exist when those who know me know the love that I give is beyond my abilities – and so might you.

On this MLK Day, I’m reminded that as much as Dr. King did for the rights of black people and to show white people the error of their ways, he went so far beyond that.  Dr. King, by God’s grace, proved the existence of God by the way he loved beyond human ability.  And when we love each other and cast aside our human biases, we are glorifying our Creator and showing others that there is indeed a God that allows us to love like that.

*

*

*

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

