Time for the Lord to show up

dirtywater

This picture from Samaritan’s Purse is very common in places like Haiti.

For the last few weeks I’ve been telling people that if they feel like they are supposed to go on the mission trip our church is taking to Haiti in April that they need to sign up to go whether they can afford it or not.  “God will provide the means if you step forward”, I’ve been telling them.  I feel like I’ve put the Lord to the test.  Now, there are 16 people who have committed to go to Haiti, at least 10 of whom are under 40 years old (and 6 of those are high schoolers under 18!)  I don’t think any of them have ever been on a mission trip before.  About half fall into the category of not being able to afford the roughly $1,500 per person.  I have no doubt that the Lord will provide.

But I also have this “other voice” that says things like, “That’s a lot of money”  or “He’s going to teach you a lesson on making promises on His behalf”.  And if you were to be honest, you would admit that voice of doubt creeps in at times with you, too.  As hard as we try not to listen to that other voice, it is so difficult to ignore.

Yesterday at The Well, our 9:30 worship, I talked about the Israelites being afraid to enter the Promised Land.  God told them to do it, but the “other voice” won the day and they chose not to enter the land.  It did not end well for them.

The funny thing about God showing up is how often He does it through His people.  He almost always has and almost always still does work through His people.  And I know He will in this case as well.  I know several people in our church have said they will help pay for people to go.  If you feel led to help and you go to church here, you will have chances to give toward the trip in church.  If you are a friend of one of those going or if you just feel led to contribute and don’t go to church here, there is a Go Fund Me account set up.  You can find that account here.  Or you can mail a donation to the church at “Wesley Chapel, Rt 2, Box 421, Ridgeley WV 26753” (Let us know if you want a tax receipt).

And as much as I hate to be using today’s blog to raise funds, how could I get to the time of the trip (if the money wasn’t there) and accuse God of not doing His part when I haven’t done my part.  I know this is part of my part. (And this fund-raising is not for me as I already have the money for my trip, which is one reason I find it easier to ask.  But that’s another blog for another day).

Whether you are called to give or not, I hope you were blessed by today’s reminder not to let doubt win even though it will undoubtedly occasionally creep in.

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free” ~ Luke 4:18

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time for the Lord to show up

  1. psalms28 says:

    I think the Lord blesses us the most when we take that leap of faith. When we put our trust in him and do His work.
    Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.”
    I’ve had many opportunities to do just that over my life, some big ones I’ve taken, some I let slip. I wrote about a trip I took when I was young. I took a trip to the Philippines to meet a pen pal. I was young and naive, but God was there non the less, calling me to take a leap of faith. He really blessed me when I put my trust in Him. Its on my blog if your interested. Anyway, Thanks for the message, praying for your trip!

Leave a Reply

