Be more like a child

IMG_2815I’ve been bowling every Monday night for several months now.  Our church pays for bowling for any young people who want to show up on Monday evenings.  (I’m not one of the young people, but one of the chaperones.)  Last night I picked up a 10 year old who needed a ride.  It was the type of evening that your car windows would start to fog up if you didn’t have the defrost on.  As the side windows fogged up, the 10 year old wiped the condensation from the window with his hand.  Adults don’t do that.  As a matter of fact, it’s been a long, long time since I’ve seen anyone do that.  It brought back memories to when my kids were young and did that.  It brought back memories to me getting yelled at for doing that when I was a kid.  “Quit that! It will leave streaks on the windows!”

As I still think about that this morning, I’m reminded of Jesus telling His disciples (and us), “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.”  I know what He meant.  He meant that if we feel like He wants us to wipe the condensation off the window, we do not worry that it might leave streaks on the window and we do it anyhow.  He meant that if He calls us to do something, we don’t worry about the cost.  We don’t worry if we look foolish or if it goes against what grown-ups typically do or should do.  It doesn’t matter if it makes sense to everyone else or if it does not meet their expectations.  It means being willing to say, “Yes, Daddy” to our Heavenly Father and just trust Him.  And as we grow up, this keeps getting more difficult. 

*

*

*

 

 

This entry was posted in Opportunity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

