Why do you send money over there? We have hungry kids here

17 of us just got back from Haiti in the wee hours of yesterday morning and today some of us were at the local homeless shelter/mission providing a free meal. I was inspired to re-post this blog when someone who was eating the food our church provided to the people at the local mission today asked me why we go to other countries to help people when there are people who need help here. It was an ironic question from someone in need who was eating the food that our “free” Wednesday night dinners pays for and that I had prepared this morning. I hope you see the irony.

Scott Knowlton's Blog

In a conversation the other day I said to my wife Diane, “You like to know things.  I don’t like to know things.”  It drives her nuts that she has seen me go to bed with 15-20 minutes left in a movie we’ve been watching.  My philosophy is, “I know how it’s going to end and if it ends differently than that, then I don’t want to see it.”

carriefoundbabyThere’s a picture that one of our missionary friends, Carrie, posted from Haiti yesterday.  It’s one that I don’t really want to look at, but perhaps need to see.  She and her friend Ashleigh found an infant yesterday.  The infant weighs 3 pounds.  She had been left for dead.  In a modern day “Good Samaritan” moment, Carrie and Ashleigh took the baby to the hospital.  And the Good Samaritan says, “Look after him, and when I return, I will reimburse…

View original post 214 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do you send money over there? We have hungry kids here

  1. Carole says:

    Excellent point

Leave a Reply

