Seeing lives changed – From death to Life

For me, the most exciting part of being a pastor is when God allows me to be involved in a dramatic life change – witnessing God bring people from death to life.  And I am always mindful that it is God who is responsible and He is not limited to working through pastors.  Pastors just get paid to focus on it full time and have a pulpit from which he or she can be used.

  • I love seeing pictures of someone who gets saved and goes on a mission trip, and then 3 or 4 years later seeing a picture from the trip show up on someone’s Facebook page and see them write, “One of the best things I ever did”.
  • I love seeing someone who was addicted to drugs and on the verge of suicide now saved and raising their children in a Christian home.
  • I love seeing someone who has been in church their whole life finally “get it” and receive salvation.
  • I love seeing someone who believed the devil’s lies that they were unlovable finally realize that they are made in the image of God, precious and beautiful to behold – and to begin living the Steven Curtis Chapman’s “Remembering You” lyrics that say

…when I heard Your name (Jesus)
Something in my heart came alive
You showed me love and no words could explain
A love with the power to
Open the door
To a world I was made for
And I watch as the cold winter melts into spring…
Oh and I’ll smell the flowers and hear the birds sing

And I never know when God is going to act.  So I just keep trying to do what God calls me to do, always keeping watch for the next person that God is going to allow me to see brought from death to life. And you never know who it’s going to be.

I pray that as you are going through your life, that God allows you to see some growth from the seeds He has you plant.

Thank you Jesus for allowing your children to sow seeds and, on occasion, letting us see you provide the growth.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

