A bad time to quit as a pastor

A friend of mine (and someone who goes to church here) works for the federal prison.  She sent me an email letting me know that the prison is hiring a “Powerhouse Manager”.  She said if I know of anyone who would be qualified I could let them know.  The job pays between $26-$32 an hour.

powerhouseI think I’m qualified.  I sent her back an email and told her that I have actually been a powerhouse manager for the last 8 years.  And that’s a lot of money.  It would be bad timing to walk away from the church for another job right now, though.  I’ve just been appointed to the church in Short Gap for my third year.  Sunday Appointments were set and it would be difficult for the conference to send a pastor here now.  They’d probably have to pull someone out of retirement.

I think I’ve decided against applying.  While it would be a substantial pay increase, it would also be a significant reduction in the amount of power available to the “powerhouse” I manage.

It’s a funny play on words, but the truth is I am a “powerhouse manager”.  Each person who goes to our church who has been born again through faith in Jesus Christ has received the Holy Spirit.  Acts 1:8 promises “you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you.”  And as a pastor, it is my job to help all of these people realize their power potential.  There are so many people who don’t realize the power they have.

I can keep going with this.  Don’t believe me?  Here goes – I deal with some who need a “crank start”, some who need primed, and some who need some gasoline thrown on their burning bush.  OK, that’s enough.

The truth is, there is a church full of people who don’t realize the power they wield and I do see it as my job to empower them.  For example, I have one person right now who is praying about doing a Bible Study (I asked them to pray about doing it at a local laundromat while paying for everyone’s laundry who came in on those evenings).

Pastors have many jobs in the church, perhaps none more important than being the “powerhouse manager”.  I think I’m overqualified to work as the prison powerhouse manager.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

