Those who seek me will find me

In the past few weeks one of the written sermons on my blog has somehow become one of the top search results for “John the Baptist” or “John the Baptist beheaded sermon” or some form of those search terms.  13,000 people have read some part of my blog in the last month, in large part because they have been seeking.

One time someone came to me to seek Biblical advice about a decision they had to make.  I told them what Scripture required of them.  They said they knew what I would say.  I told them if they wanted to hear the opposite answer, they probably knew who to go to.  What I meant is that they had some friends that would tell them not to worry about the issue and to take the easy path.  They said they did know people who would have told them the opposite.  But they weren’t just seeking any advice.  They were seeking God.

I am reminded of the many ways that Scripture tells us that those who seek God will find Him. Proverbs 8:17, Jeremiah 29:13, and Matthew 7:7 are a few. There are many times that we don’t seek God, instead seeking to have our viewpoint or even our sin affirmed.  And we know who to ask to have our own desires affirmed.

One thing’s for sure, you will find what you’re looking for.  If you’re seeking God, you will find Him.  If you’re seeking something else, you will most certainly find something else.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Opportunity, Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

