What are the highlights of your life?

Sometimes when another blogger clicks “like” on my blog, I will take a look at theirs just to see what their blog’s purpose is. I primarily write to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ and to encourage and challenge those who already follow Him.

There was an interesting blog that I looked at this morning.  He lists his personal highlights as follows (in entirety):

  • Currently being Followed on Twitter by Nelly Furtado , Ben Bailey and Casper Van Dien from Star Ship Troopers and most recently “Mortal Kombat Legacy”
  • Once met the wrestling Hall of Famer Booker T
  • I once encountered Luthor Vandross in a Nobody beats the Wiz store – Yeah remember those?
  • Was once the brief caretaker of legendary Double Bass player Andy Gonzalez and it was a priveldge!
  • Hired by entertainer Robbi Style featured on VH1 to do illustrations and messaged by one of my favorite stand up comedians of all time Ben Bailey ( Cash Cab Guy ) on FB and Twitter.

I don’t want to cast aspersions on this guy’s list.  Let me just say it reminded me that what some people view as important, others may view as insignificant. And that’s OK. He doesn’t have to live his life to please other people, and neither do you or I.

IMG_2125But what I do not want to do is to be distracted by the trappings of our society and begin to think that those things are the highlights of life. This guy’s personal highlights all have to do with celebrity. The majority of my highlights in the last 15 years have to do with God’s mission. Again, I’m not criticizing that guy, but as for me, I consider those things that I do as a follower of Jesus as some of the greatest joys in life. And they’re not all dramatic like being in Haiti or Africa or other mission trips. Some of them are as simple as fixing a dinner on Wednesday evenings for a whole lot of people who will come to the church to eat and hear about (and I pray FROM) God.

I have this saying from St. Gregory the Great written in the front of my Bible and it reminds me not to get distracted (he wrote is about 1,500 years ago):

Anyone who is determined to reach their destination is not deterred by the roughness of the road that leads to it. Nor must we allow the charm of success to seduce us, or we shall be like the foolish traveler who is so distracted by the pleasant meadows through which he is passing that he forgets where he is going.

I pray that you and I aren’t seduced by the charms of this world.

*

*

*

 

This entry was posted in Walking the Walk and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

