Lukewarm churches to flee to

I’m listening to a Francis Chan sermon this afternoon.  In it, he says the primary reason to have kids is to raise up “warriors for Christ”.  We shouldn’t have kids simply to have fun little people running around who we can make our own lives revolve around.

And when I heard this it struck me.  That’s exactly why I’m a pastor.  God has called me to raise up warriors for Christ.  And I’m not just talking about the kids in our church.  I’m talking about everyone from 1-100 in our church.  And I’m not just talking about people in our church.  Of course I mean them, but I’m also talking about you who read my blogs and you who listen to my sermons online.

Some warriors go to the front line of the battlefield while other warriors stay in their “war room” and pray.  Rick Warren said, “The strength of an army isn’t measured by the number of people who sit in the mess hall and eat, but by the number of people who are willing to go to battle.”   He’s insinuating that some people don’t want to be warriors.  He’s insinuating that some people just want to sit in the “mess hall” and gorge themselves.

Someone anonymously sent me a John MacArthur CD the other day.  I listened to it.  MacArthur inferred that there are many people who will flee Bible teaching, Bible preaching churches (you might even say ‘warrior training’ churches) for the comfort of lukewarm churches that teach that sin is OK, that the only thing required of a Christian is acceptance, and the only enemy is judgemental Christians.

Jesus’ followers are and always have been called to be warriors.  1 Peter 5:8 reminds us we have an enemy: “Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.”  Too many of us are not ready for battle or even willing to be trained. 

There’s an army rising up.  Are you willing to be a part of it?

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

